Trump Signs New Travel Ban


ORLANDO — President Donald Trump today signed a revised version of the travel ban knocked down by the courts.  He is still focused on preventing people from Iran, Syria, Somalia, Sudan, Yemen and Libya from entering the U.S.   Iraq is not on the list.

The original travel ban caused panic and chaos at airports around the country.  There was confusion about how to interpret the order, causing some people who had traveled outside the U.S. to be locked out and not able to get back in.  A number of legal challenges sprang up and the order was ultimately put on hold by a federal judge in Washington state.  The Trump administration appealed the Washington state ruling, but the decision was upheld by a federal appeals court.  The revised order was drafted in a way to get around the objections noted by the federal courts. USA, LLC

In the face of this action, though, sits also risks being overshadowed by unsubstantiated accusations the president made over the weekend that former President Barack Obama had ordered the wiretapping of his phone during the campaign.


The revised order is narrower and specifies that a 90-day ban on people from the six countries does not apply to those who already have valid visas or people with U.S. green cards.